Tamika Catchings, Lauren Jackson headline Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame class

8:23 PM ET

Mechelle VoepelESPN.com

CloseMechelle Voepel covers the WNBA, women’s college basketball, and other college sports for espnW. Voepel began covering women’s basketball in 1984, and has been with ESPN since 1996.

Former WNBA stars Tamika Catchings, Lauren Jackson and Swin Cash will be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame on June 13.

They are part of a seven-member class that includes former player Debbie Brock and contributors Carol Callan, Sue Donohoe and Carol Stiff. This will be the 22nd class inducted into the Hall, which is located in Knoxville, Tennessee.

The Hall annually honors “trailblazers of the game,” and this year that will be the 1980 Olympic team, which was coached by the late Sue Gunter of LSU. The team was selected but didn’t get a chance to compete in the 1980 Moscow Games because of the United States’ boycott.

Four-time Olympic gold medalist Tamika Catchings leads a class of seven former players and contributors to women’s basketball who will be enshrined at the Hall on June 13. Ron Hoskins/NBAE via Getty Images

Here is a look at the inductees:

Jackson is a three-time WNBA MVP (2003, ’07, ’10) who was the No. 1 draft pick in 2001 by Seattle and won league championships with the Storm in 2004 and 2010. She also was a stalwart with the Australian national team, winning three silver medals and one bronze at the Olympics.

Catchings was the WNBA MVP in 2011 and led the Indiana Fever to the league title in 2012. She was a four-time Olympic gold medalist with the United States and won the 1998 NCAA championship with Tennessee. She is currently the general manager of the Fever.

Cash won WNBA titles with Detroit in 2003 and ’06 and with Seattle in 2010. She was a two-time Olympic gold medalist and won two NCAA championships with UConn.

Brock won three national championships at Delta State in the 1970s in the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) era.

Callan has been USA Basketball’s women’s national team director since 1996, helping guide the Americans to six consecutive Olympic gold medals.

Donohoe was vice president of NCAA Division I women’s basketball from 2003 to ’12 and director of the NCAA tournament from 1999 to 2002.

Stiff is ESPN’s vice president for programming and acquisitions, with an emphasis on NCAA women’s basketball, the WNBA and other women’s sports. She helped launch Jimmy V Week and the Kay Yow Cancer Fund.

Source link

Leave a comment