A’ja Wilson, Breanna Stewart lead early WNBA All-Star voting

Alexa Philippou, ESPNJun 13, 2023, 05:56 PM ET

CloseCovers women’s college basketball and the WNBA
Previously covered UConn and the WNBA Connecticut Sun for the Hartford Courant
Stanford graduate and Baltimore native with further experience at the Dallas Morning News, Seattle Times and Cincinnati Enquirer

Two-time MVP A’ja Wilson and two-time Finals MVP Breanna Stewart lead the early voting among fans for the 2023 WNBA All-Star Game, the league announced Tuesday.

Wilson and Stewart — captains in last year’s game — rank in the top 10 for both scoring and rebounding this season. Wilson’s Las Vegas Aces are off to a league-best 8-1 start, while Stewart’s New York Liberty sit at 6-2, the WNBA’s third-best record.

Top 10 All-Star Voting LeadersA’ja Wilson (LVA) 35,968Breanna Stewart (NYL) 32,926Brittney Griner (PHO) 28,387Aliyah Boston (IND) 23,594Jackie Young (LVA) 23,217Jewell Loyd (SEA) 21,145Satou Sabally (DAL) 20,971Elena Delle Donne (WAS) 18,652Nneka Ogwumike (LAS) 16,804Arike Ogunbowale (DAL) 16,423

The rest of the top 10 vote-getters include the Phoenix Mercury’s Brittney Griner, the Indiana Fever’s Aliyah Boston, the Aces’ Jackie Young, the Seattle Storm’s Jewell Loyd, the Dallas Wings’ Satou Sabally, the Washington Mystics’ Elena Delle Donne, the Los Angeles Sparks’ Nneka Ogwumike and the Wings’ Arike Ogunbowale.

Fan voting ends June 21. Fans contribute 50% of the vote while current players account for 25% and media another 25%.

Four guards and six frontcourt players with the best scores (calculated by averaging their weighted rank from fan votes, player votes and media votes) will be named starters. That group will be announced June 25, after which the league’s head coaches will select 12 reserves, who will be revealed July 1.

The captains — the two All-Star starters receiving the most fan votes — will draft their rosters on an ESPN selection special July 8.

The 2023 All-Star Game, which will take place on the Aces’ home court of Michelob Ultra Arena, will be held July 15 (8:30 p.m. ET on ABC).

Source link

Leave a comment