Phoenix Mercury

Updated: July 6, 2012

General Information

Phoenix, Arizona
US Airways Center
2 (2007, 2009)
Conference titles   
3 (1998, 2007, 2009)
Official website

The Phoenix Mercury is a basketball team based in Phoenix, Arizona, playing within the Western Conference inside the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA). The team was founded ahead of the league’s inaugural 1997 season began; it is one of many eight original franchises. The group is owned by Robert Sarver, who also owns the Mercury’s NBA counterpart, the Phoenix Suns.

The Mercury has qualified for the WNBA Playoffs in six of its fourteen years in Phoenix. The franchise has been household to quite a few high-quality players like former UConn sharpshooter Diana Taurasi, explosive Rutgers grad Cappie Pondexter, former Temple energy forward Candice Dupree, and Australian guard Penny Taylor. In 1998, 2007, and 2009, the Mercury went to the WNBA Finals; they lost to Houston in 1998, but won the title in 2007 and 2009 more than Detroit and Indiana, respectively.


In June 2009 the Mercury and WNBA announced a sponsorship agreement with identity theft protection service LifeLock to location that company’s logo on their jerseys by way of the 2011 season, making the Mercury among the initial non-soccer franchises within the significant leagues of North America to place a business logo on their uniforms.